Province Announces Board of Governors Appointments

The Province of Manitoba has announced changes to Red River College’s Board of Governors effective immediately. Please see the news release below from the Province which contains further details.

On behalf of the College’s senior leadership team, I would like to congratulate Loren Cisyk on his appointment as Board Chair and Janice Hyde as Vice-Chair and extend a warm welcome to all of the new members of our Board of Governors. We are looking forward to working with you as we continue to enhance our programming and reputation as one of Canada’s premiere post-secondary institutions for applied research and innovation.

I would also like to extend a sincere thank you to our outgoing Board members – Lloyd Schreyer, Kathy Knight and Ron Koslowsky – for their exceptional leadership, dedicated service and hard work during their time as governors. In particular, I would like to acknowledge the critical role that Lloyd, as our outgoing chair, played in leading the College through a period of transition and ensuring that RRC is poised for continued success into the future.


Paul (Vogt)

MB News Release headerJanuary 19, 2017


The Manitoba government has appointed four individuals to the board of governors of Red River College (RRC), Education and Training Minister Ian Wishart announced today.

“I’m pleased to congratulate these new members on their appointments to the RRC board of governors,” said Wishart.  “Their collective knowledge and experience will benefit the college community greatly and I’m confident this newly revitalized board will contribute many fresh, innovative ideas.”

The RRC board of governors determines the general policies, administration, operation and programs of study at the college, provides services and programs of study consistent with the mandate of the college, sets tuition and other fees, and provides for granting credentials for programs of study.

Existing member Loren Cisyk has been designated chair, and Janice Hyde has been appointed to the board and designated as vice-chair.  Susan Gilbert and Debra Enns have been appointed as regular members, and Adam Taplin has been appointed as a student member.

Cisyk is the general manager of IBM Canada’s Prairie region.  He previously held managerial positions at Great-West Life and Cargill Limited, and was an instructor at RRC.  He has a computer analyst/programmer diploma from RRC and has earned designations as a certified management accountant and a project management professional.  He served on the Premier’s Economic Advisory Committee on health and health reform, and was past chair and member of the Information, Communications and Technology Association of Manitoba.

Hyde brings more than 30 years’ experience in the information and communications technology sector with IBM Canada.  She is also a proud member of the charitable organization, 100 Winnipeg Women Who Care, and has been recognized as an Individual Difference Maker for her contributions as a volunteer and board member of the Never Alone Foundation.

Gilbert is the chief operating officer for MIG Insurance Group Limited.  Prior to joining MIG, she owned a marketing and communications company, and worked in advertising and marketing consulting and strategic planning.

Enns is the chief financial officer of Enns Family Farms.  She is current chair of the Boundary Trails Health Foundation and previously served as chair of the Altona and District Retail Merchants Association, and W. C. Miller Home and School Parent Association.

Taplin is in his third year of accounting at RRC.  He is president of the Red River College Students’ Association and previously served as the vice president-external.

The new appointees join existing members Michael Legary, Marilyn Kenny, Leah Gazan, David Sauer, Nita Orbeta and David Beaudin to form the new RRC board of governors.

“RRC will benefit greatly from the wisdom and experience these individuals bring, just as it has from the contributions of outgoing board members,” said Wishart.  “I thank them for their service and commitment.”

Categories: All

Leave a Reply